Who won the 2014 Nobel prize for peace?

nobel-prize-for-peace-2014India’s Kailash Satyarthi, Pakistan’s Malala Yousafzai are joint winners of 2014 Nobel Prize for Peace.

Child Rights Activist Kailash Satyarthi has been conferred with the prestigious Nobel peace prize 2014 along with Malala Yousafzai of Pakistan.

Satyarthi is the eighth Indian to win a Nobel prize. He has been advocating against child labour since the 1990s. His organisation – Bachpan Bachao Andolan symbolises the fight against child servitude. Bachpan Bachao Andolan has helped free over 80,000 children from various form of servitude.

Satyarthi was born on January 11, 1954 in Vidisha in Madhya Pradesh. The Nobel Peace Prize Committee said that he has been awarded for his struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.

A teenage Pakistani activist came to the international limelight when she was shot by the Taliban…

The 16-year-old Malala Yousafzai rose to prominence in October 2012, when the Taliban tried to kill her for advocating the equality and education of women. She was shot in the head while returning from school in Mingora, the main city of the northwestern Swat valley where militants had a strong base at the time.

She was initially treated in Pakistan, but was later flown to a hospital in Britain, where she now lives with her family.